Citizen Committees

Airport Advisory Committee

Ted Wiley                         7-1-21

Ann Thomas                    7-1-21

Phil McCormick              7-1-20

Kim Davis                        7-1-20

*Mike Gardner               7-1-22

Board of Adjustment

Mark Kimzey                     1-1-21

*Patricia File                       1-1-25

Dana Holmstrom             1-1-25

Brent Schrader                 1-1-25

Devyn Phelps                    1-1-21

Community Development Committee

The committee acts in an advisory capacity only concerning all applications for building and sign permits in the Mount Pleasant Revitalization District No. 1. This includes Central Park and the eight (8) complete blocks surrounding the park. The Board meets only upon request.

*Karl Schaefer                         9-16-20

Kirsten Herdt                          9-16-22

Penny Rauenbuehler             9-16-20

Kurt Moon                               9-16-22

Chancelor Smith                     9-16-21

Anna Villareal                          9-16-21

Amanda Rundquist                9-16-21

Construction Board of Appeals

The board hears and decides appeals requested by any person or party regarding the technical interpretation by the building and zoning administrator of the provisions of the city’s adopted building, plumbing, mechanical and housing codes. The board meets only upon request.

Tom Tipton        3-9-22

Justin Lange      3-9-20

Mary Moon        3-9-21

Historic Preservation Commission

This Commission fosters pride in the legacy of beauty and achievements of the past, and promote the use of sites and districts of historic and cultural significance as places for the education, pleasure and welfare of the people of the city.

*Jeff Thomas                   1-1-21

Lea Bradley                     1-1-23

Emilie DeWulf Glass     1-1-23

Paul Tinder                     1-1-21

Joy Lapp                         2-9-23

Human Rights Commission

Research, investigate and study the existence, character, causes and the extent of discrimination in accommodations, employment, and housing in the city.

Sal Alaniz          2-14-23

Library Board

This Board was created to have charge, control and supervision of the public library, its appurtenances, fixtures, rooms and to employ a Librarian.

Marianne Klein                  7-1-22

Jerry Naylor                       7-1-22

Alisha Iserman                   7-1-24

Brian Carter                        7-1-20

*Ed Kropa                             7-1-22

Don LeBlanc                       7-1-20

Paulette Shappell               7-1-20

Mount Pleasant Area Development Commission

The City, County, Chamber of Commerce and area business have formed a Commission to promote economic development initiatives in Mount Pleasant and Henry County.

Terry McWilliams

Steve Brimhall

Dan McCabe

Regional Revolving Loan

The City of Mount Pleasant belongs to regional revolving loan fund to help businesses and industries with loan interest loans. This Committee makes recommendations to the Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission on which projects should receive a low interest loan.

Steve Brimhall   (3 Year Term)

Park & Recreation Board

The Park Board advises the city on policies, programs, and facilities.

*Lorrie Roth                                    6-1-21

Denny White                                 6-1-22

Jennifer Lamm                             6-1-22

Melissa Coleman                          6-1-22

Tabitha Schimmelpfennig          6-1-20

Brent Rich                                      6-1-20

Dan Koller                                     6-1-20

Planning & Zoning Commission

Responsibilities include recommendations to the city council regarding the comprehensive plan, zoning, site plans and subdivision development.

Chivonne Anderson              1-1-21

Amy Frantz                            1-1-24

Lori Glanzman                      1-1-24

Diana Upton                        1-1-24

*David File                               1-1-21

Tom Young                            1-1-24

Terry McNair                         1-1-21

Utility Board

The board of trustees shall have all of the power and authority in the management and control of the electric and water utilities.

Carol Nemitz                        10-21

Dan McCabe                        10-23

David George                       10-25

Michelle Rosell                    10-25

Harvey Ungerman               10-21

Jack Hedgecock, General Manager

*(Denotes Chair)